*DO YOUR PASTORAL WORK WITH ZEAL AND FAITHFULNESS* ” – Bishop Kwofie tells the Clergy as he ordains 12 into the ministerial priesthood

The Bishop of the Sekondi-Takoradi Catholic Diocese, Most Rev. John Bonaventure Kwofie has challenged the clergy to discharge their pastoral duties with zeal and faithfulness. He made this call during the ordination of 12 deacons into the ministerial priesthood on Saturday, 14th July, 2018 at the Star of the Sea Cathedral, Takoradi.

In his homily, the Bishop, Most Rev. John Bonaventure Kwofie bemoaned the issue of amassing wealth creeping into the ministry. He stated that the litany of complaints received at his office are often not about priests not administering the sacraments or not going for benedictions , visiting the sick or preparing homilies but money matters. Money has become a major source of tension in the ministry today, he intimated. “Don’t go looking for money but do your work well and money will look for you” the Bishop retorted.

He further admonished the priests that their responsibility over the household of God is about stewardship, faithfulness, being wise and prudent.

The Mass was presided over by Most Rev. John Bonaventure Kwofie CSSp and concelebrated by 140 priests. Also present were Msgr. Francis Abua-Quansah and Msgr. Simon Asamoah, Vicar Generals for the Sekondi-Takoradi and Wiawso Diocese respectively, Very Rev. Fr. Francis Arthur, Rector of St. Paul’s Catholic Seminary, Sowutoum.

Two of the newly ordained priests had their Senior High School education at St. John’s School and the other ten at St. Mary’s Secondary/Minor Seminary.

Also, among the newly ordained priests were two biological brothers from the same parents, Rev Frs Nicholas Nketsiah and Damien Nketsiah.

Rev. Fr. Albin Kissi one of the newly ordained gave the vote of thanks of behalf of his colleagues. He expressed gratitude to the Bishop, the priests, the pastoral team, their parents and all Christ’s faithful for their unflinching support throughout their formative period

Appointment of New Priests

Rev. Fr. John Allu – Kengen

Rev. Fr. Isaac Francis Armoo – Manso Amenfi

Rev. Fr. Martin Abu Arthur – Shama

Rev. Fr. Augustine L. Barno – Axim

Rev. Fr. Edward Cudjoe – Kwesimintsim

Rev. Fr. Benjamin Doughan – Wassa Akropong

Rev. Fr. Albin Kissi Ernim – Apowa

Rev. Fr. Marino Kontoh – Agona Amenfi

Rev. Fr. Nicholas Nketsia – Tamso

Rev. Fr. Damien William Nketsiah – Kojokrom

Rev. Fr. Philip Nsobiabah – Samreboi

Rev. Fr. Nicholas Ukwomah – Prestea